Finding Rest In God: Take 11

Well, Matt. Your challenge has been met. Although some may not have even read your challenge, it did not go unheard. For the others, I will explain. Matt, who is so far the only person to have commented on my St. Augustine devotional post, made the remark:

Now you just need to make a praise and worship song out of it!

[Matt 1 March 2008 @ 12:20 am]

Well, here is your song, Matt. I have entitled the song “Confession #5” to give Augustine the full credit, since he really wrote it. I have copied the text below so that you can follow along. I apologize in advance for my singing. Give me a break: I wrote the lyrics yesterday, and the music today. It’s also not easy to play the piano and sing at the same time, at least not for me.

I’ll also have you know that recording this thing was a real pain (hence “take 11.” It must have taken me at least as many tries to get this thing right.) Also, when I uploaded the video to my computer, it looked like the audio and video weren’t synced up right, but after I saved the video as a smaller file, it all worked out ok.

James, the younger brother

Verse 1:

F C

My desire is to rest in you,

Dm Bb C

for your Spirit to captivate my soul.

F C

And I long to forget my pain,

Dm Bb C

for your goodness to make me whole.

Chorus:

F Bb/F F

Oh Lord, what are you to me?

Bb F/A Gm F

Please allow me to comprehend it,

Gm F C F

To proclaim the depth of your love.

F Bb/F F Bb F

Say to my soul: “I am your salvation.”

Bb F/A Gm

And as I run to your voice,

F C F

Embrace me from above.

Verse 2:

In this world, Lord, who am I,

that your heart yearns for my affection?

Woe to me! if I am silent

and respond to you with rejection.

Chorus

Bridge:

Dm C Bb Dm/Bb C/A Gm

Lord, the eyes of my heart are set upon you.

F C F/C C

Open them so I may see you today.

Dm C Bb Dm/Bb C Gm

Please don’t hide your face from me, lest I die.

F C F

Reveal yourself to me, Lord, I pray.

Verse 3:

Though my heart is small and broken,

You’re the only one who can fix me.

And my house is full of sin and idols,

You’re the only one who can cleanse me.

Chorus

9 Responses to Finding Rest In God: Take 11

  1. Matt says:

    Awesome! I almost made it an official challenge, but decided to leave it at a subtle hint. Now you just have to send out the chords so I can learn to play it.

  2. James says:

    I’ve posted the chords. It was kinda tricky to get the spaces to show up in the text, but that should be all you need to learn the song.

  3. James says:

    I just watched the video again, and I also have to apologize for the ridiculous faces that I make while playing the piano. I have been told that I do that, but I never really knew how funny it looks. It’s supposed to be a worship song, not a “let’s see what kind of funny faces James can make” song. Sorry.

  4. covingtonfamily says:

    Wow! I did read Matthew’s comment saying that you should write a praise and worship song with it, and I thought you might do it, but I didn’t think would happen this fast. I’m really impressed.

  5. NoPockets says:

    I’m impressed, James! I like the music – you did a great job. I didn’t realize you guys had a webcam. I need to get me one of those! Looks like fun.

  6. James says:

    I actually took the video with the point-and-shoot digital camera that Allison and I got for Christmas from her parents. We do, however, have a webcam. Apparently I have a lot to learn about digital video, because uploading the video and preparing to put it on the web was considerably more time-consuming that I would have thought.

  7. Allison says:

    My favorite part of this video are your facial expressions. Especially around 1:18, although there are many more.

  8. Susan says:

    I can’t see a video – what am I doing wrong? There’s just a blank white space in the blog about 15 lines long. I’m assuming that’s where the video is?

  9. James says:

    Do you have Youtube blocked, perchance? The video is actually hosted there and I have just inserted a link to the video on my blog that can be viewed without going to youtube’s site. Another way to view the video would be just go to the site:

    Hopefully that helps.

Leave a Reply

