Just Hangin’ Around:

So…it’s my birthday, and for once, I’m actually done with finals, papers and all of that other exciting stuff that usually comes around this time of year, just in time for my birthday. It’s been a great day so far. I went for a run this morning, and when I got back, Allison had a delicious breakfast waiting for me (sausage and pancakes…yum). I had to go in to work until noon this morning, but when I got back I took an awesome nap (two hours!). Anyway, I’m sure ya’ll really don’t need a play-by-play of my birthday, but I did want to share with you the card that Allison got me:

I really like the monkeys. In fact, I asked for a barrel of monkeys one year for Christmas, just because I liked them so much (I was way too old to play with them). The only problem with this picture, is that I realized that Allison must have stolen my birthday hat, because I’m pretty sure that I should be the one who is upside-down. That wasn’t too hard to fix, though:

Anyway, I hope you’re all having as good of a day as I am. I’ve been enjoying just hangin’ around and reading a lot over the last few days, since I got finished earlier this year than any previous semester of my life. I somehow managed to get done with everything before Dead Day. I just considered it a little birthday present from the U of A to its soon-to-be alumnus.

8 Responses to Just Hangin’ Around:

  1. NoPockets says:

    WHOO HOO!! Happy birthday. Great choice, Allison, on the card – it is so fantastic looking. Classy and with monkeys is hard to pull off, unless you’re Curious George. I think James is right that he should be the upside down one, but I have to admit that it isn’t impossible that Allison would be the one wearing the hat … it’s worth thinking about.

  2. James says:

    You have no idea. It is worth thinking about. Trust me, because I thought about it for awhile. There is something else that Allison and I were thinking about this morning, but it’d be better if we talked about it in person.

  3. nopockets says:

    You’d better not be going to ask if we can put an owl on Charlie’s back, ’cause the answer is no to that. Charlie deserves better than to be the object of your amusement, just so you know. So, that’s not worth thinking about.

  4. James says:

    Actually, that’s not what we were thinking about, but what if Charlie and an owl got to be friends, and he wanted to give his friend owl a ride? Would it really be right to stop him, just because you think that Charlie is above that?

  5. NoPockets says:

    Well, I guess if Charlie and an owl became friends it would be okay, I’m just saying Charlie is above being forced to say wear a unicorn horn on his head, a pair of bunny ears, or, if the situation presents itself, an owl on his back. Hope your Birthday / free afternoon is going well.

  6. Matt says:

    What in the world are you guys talking about? Happy birthday my brother in monkeyness.

  7. Susan says:

    Happy Birthday James! I wrote a birthday greeting to Carol on my blog and meant to add something about you, but it was getting late.

    I hope you guys have a wonderful time at graduation this weekend. Wish I could be there.

    You can put an owl on my dog’s back if you want to. We use her for amusement all the time.

  8. Carol says:

    Happy Birthday to my Birthday Buddy!!! Jacob asked me yesterday if it was my best birthday ever. I had to think about that one, but not for very long. I don’t think I’ve ever had a present quite as good as you!!!

Leave a Reply

