Captain Caveman

Matt was in Fayetteville for about twenty-four hours this weekend. He said that his expedition was successful, which is good news, and he definitely looked the part of a crazy caveman:

He and Elizabeth will be leaving for Slovenia in a few months, so this is one of the last times that he’ll be here in Fayetteville for quite some time. Once he’s gone, our siblinghood will be truly global, which is cool, but also really sad. I’m grateful that we’ll have this blog to help us keep up with each other’s lives.

I’ll be leaving for Kentucky tomorrow at noon. I’m going to be at a conference this week called “Together for the Gospel”, where I’ll get to listen to speakers like John Piper, CJ Mahaney, Mark Dever, John MacArthur, and several other well-known pastors. I’m excited about what God has in store for me this week and what he’s going to teach me through this conference. You can expect to be hearing more about it in my next post.

– Lisa, the younger sister

9 Responses to Captain Caveman

  1. James says:

    Does Bulgaria not qualify as global? :(

  2. Ann says:

    Lisa, 24 hours is an overstatement. He was here more like 15 hours, and about half of those were spent sleeping. (At least Dad and I were sleeping; Matt stayed up till 3:00 AM working on his presentation for the geology conference in Branson.)

    • Lisa says:

      Sorry, mom. This is another instance of my failure at math. I was thinking that he was here from about 7pm to 7am the next day, which my brain thinks is 24 hours.

  3. Ann says:

    James, I think to classify as “truly global,” two of you must be living outside the U.S.

    • James says:

      So are we currently “doubtfully global”, “dubiously global”, “questionably global” or “loosely global”? Those are my favorite four antonyms for truly according to thesaurus.com.

  4. Jeremy & Katie Rogers says:

    I’m going to go with loosely global. But, any of those suffice. I mean, it will change quite a bit for 50% of the siblinghood to be living outside of the U.S. Not to mention, I’m in Texas which is a whole other country anyway, so you could say we’re all in different countries at that point. But, Bulgaria is definitely global, so no worries there :)

    • James says:

      Actually, Texas no longer is its own country, although I think it still owns land in London where its embassy was.

  5. Lisa says:

    Yes, Katie is right. We’re currently loosely global. I’m sorry that my statement has caused you so much grief, James. I did not intend to imply that Bulgaria isn’t global. It’s just that one sibling out of the country is only loosely global.

  6. Carol says:

    You were “temporarily” global for about the last six weeks as Matt was in Mexico.

Leave a Reply

