Book Review: The Scarlet Pimpernel … and Post #100

Upon Lisa’s suggestion, I recently read The Scarlet Pimpernel. It is a wonderful book and is set in England during the French Revolution. I know that images of A Tale of Two Cities may come to mind, but you will be glad to hear that Baroness Orczy is not quite as wordy as Charles Dickens. (Not that I don’t love Dickens but I know that some don’t appreciate his long-winded style as much as I do.)

A primary focus of the story is the British hero (The Scarlet Pimpernell) who rescues French aristocrats from the guillotine. Much of the story is told from the viewpoint of Marguerite St. Just who was previously a French aristocrat herself until her recent marriage to Percy St. Just, an Englishman. It is a classic adventure novel, filled with mystery and intrigue, yet not lacking character development. It reminded me of G.K. Chesterton’s mysteries with plot twists and British wit, and is definitely a must-read book.

The Scarlet Pimpernel also reads very fast – I’m sure partly due to the suspense in the second half of the book – and I would recommend waiting to start it when you have a good long stretch to read the whole thing at once. I got into the thick of this book while waiting in line (for 3 hours, I might add) for my driver’s license. Then, I had to go back to work for several hours before I could pick it up again and it was very hard to stay focused. Overall, not as much depth or meaning as Lisa’s recent book review of Redeeming Love, but still a great book.

On another note, this is the 100th post on Consanguinity so we should probably figure out some great way to celebrate.

– Katie, the Older Sister

4 Responses to Book Review: The Scarlet Pimpernel … and Post #100

  1. James says:

    Interesting thing that you mention Dickens. I just finished reading “The Three Musketeers” and was trying to think of what to read next. I had just decided to read “Great Expectations” this afternoon.

    • Jeremy & Katie Rogers says:

      That is very interesting. Great Expectations was my first Dickens read. I hope you enjoy reading it.

  2. Susan Seaman says:

    I think Lisa got this suggestion from Rebecca, who read Scarlet Pimpernel at my suggestion! I read it for the first time a few summers ago. I just loved it! We got the most recent movie version and watched it as a family. It’s not as good as the book, but it added some quite humorous touches.

  3. Susan Seaman says:

    By the way, if you see the movie, watch for this classic line ~

    “I couldn’t spare you your moment of triumph. But, alas, a moment was all I could spare.” We loved that part.

Leave a Reply

