Looking Back at Freshman Year

So, I only have three class periods left in this semester, and three final exams to prepare for next week. It’s very strange for me to sit here and realize that next Thursday I will be moving out of this dorm room and leaving behind my freshman year forever. I’ve had a wonderful time here at the U of A, and I’ve certainly learned a lot of things about life and myself. Here are a few things that I’ve learned and am very thankful for:

1) Friends are very important. I’ve heard someone say that the friends that you make in college are the friends that stay with you all your life. Coming out of high school, I didn’t believe that I could have any closer of friends than those I’d already made, and I was scared to death about going off and leaving them. Now that I”ve lived through a year of college, I’m very glad to say that I”ve made some great friends that I know will always be there for me. Whether it’s going with me to ride at the farm, forcing me to study when I don’t want to, praying together, texting me when they’re bored and want me to join their procrastination, confiding in each other, sharing what God’s working in our lives, or just hanging out together and laughing over how ridiculous we all are, my friends have touched my life in a million ways this year, and I could never express to them how grateful I am that God has put them in my life.

2) On a lighter note, Mommy’s cooking really is way better than anything else out there. Eating at Brough and the Union daily has beat this into my head…or, I guess, my stomach.

3) I love going home to see my Mommy and Daddy. I don’t know what I would do if home wasn’t so close to the dorm. I know that at the beginning of the year, I was way more than ready to get out on my own (no offence, Mom!). But I love getting to go home and hang out with them, and I’m way glad that they have opened our home up on many occasions for my friends and I to come and bake and play Wii and watch Scarecrow and Mrs. King. Mommy has adopted us all and is always willing to iron our clothes or cook us food or help with crazy projects like making last-minute Robin Hood costumes. And I’m sure Daddy would step up to the plate, too, if we ever needed circuit board costumes or something…

4) Being involved with the church is one of the best things ever. At first, I was really nervous about moving up from the youth ministry and away from everyone that I knew, but after the college retreat in the fall, I felt instantly plugged in. Now I’m friends with pretty much everyone there, and it’s really a great place to grow spiritually alongside others. I’m always looking forward to Sunday mornings, Wednesday nights, Thursday Bible study, Friday Leadership group, and all the other fun events at the church.

5) You can never get enough of the gospel. In my college leadership book study group, we are finishing up the book Living the Cross-Centered Life by C.J. Mahaney, which I highly recommend to everyone. In reading it this semester, I’ve come to realize that the gospel is central to the Bible, and every verse points toward Christ. Mahaney stresses the importance of preaching the gospel to ourselves and praying it daily. There is no message more important than this: God loves us so much, even in our sin, that he sent his son, Jesus Christ, to take upon himself all of God’s wrath for all time, and worse, to be completely separated from him, so that we could stand before his throne and glorify him for all eternity.

I could go on and on, but I think that covers the main big points of what God’s been teaching me this year, and what I’ve become truly grateful for.

– Lisa, the younger sister

One Response to Looking Back at Freshman Year

  1. James says:

    This is exciting for me to read, too, although I can’t believe your Freshman year is almost over. I was thinking the other day that when we come back for furlough, you’ll almost be done with college, probably. I’ve been delighted to see how God has been working in your life this year from afar. I started praying for you regularly in August, and the other day it hit me that all this year God has been answering my prayers. It sounds like you also have a great summer ahead of you.

Leave a Reply

