Happy Mother’s Day

Just yesterday my mom posted on her blog that it was my birthday.  Now it’s my turn, since my birthday doesn’t fall on Sunday (i.e. Mother’s Day) this year.  I’ve been reading a book of Bulgarian fairy-tales over the last two months, and I ran across one that reminded me of my mother, since it talks about what it’s like for a mom and a son to be far away from each.  So I decided to translate this fairytale for you as a Mother’s Day present.  It probably takes 20-30 minutes to read, since it’s 16 pages, but it’s a fun story.  I have to add a disclaimer, though, for anyone who reads this translation: I don’t intend for the mother and son to be exact representations of my mother and me, so don’t get offended if something seems a little off.  I’ve really enjoyed reading these fairy-tales, and I hope that you can enjoy this one in translation.

The Kingdom of the Nymphs

P. S. For anyone who reads this text, if you find typos or wording issues, feel free to comment and let me know.  Since I put in the time to translate this story, I want it to be good quality, and I’m always open to comments and critiques.

James, the younger son

3 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Ann says:

    James, thanks for the lovely fairy tale. I really enjoyed the story! I may take it to school next week and read it to my class, telling them that it is a Bulgarian fairytale.

    • James says:

      I’m glad you liked it. I think it’s one of my favorites in the book (out of maybe 25-30 others in the book). I really liked the ending. That’s a lot of what did it for me in that story.

  2. Ann says:

    I’m glad Bulgaria is more accessible to me than The Kingdom of the Nymphs.

Leave a Reply

